Making the switch - Induction cooking with Emma Dean

An evening with MasterChef winner Emma Dean as she shows why she loves her induction cooktop - - and why great cooking is even better without gas. 

Emma will show us how an induction cooktop, using electromagnetism, outshines gas - giving superior temperature control and faster cooking times while using half as much energy!  

Lachlan Hensey, Community Energy Project Officer at the Metro Community Power Hub (MCPH) will also be on hand to answer questions about induction cooking and talk about his work in helping communities switch to cleaner energy. 

Emma Dean grew up on a small farm in Central Victoria where her parents grew most of their own food. She has a master's degree in environment and planning and has worked in a range of roles in the Victorian Government including climate change adaptation and transport planning.

Now Emma's focus is on sustainability around food and food production (as well as making all things delicious). Through working in restaurants and presenting at cooking expos, Emma has come to love the technology surrounding induction cooking methods. She is in the process of making her home all-electric including an induction cooktop.

Lachlan Hensey is Community Energy Project Officer at the not-for-profit Yarra Energy Foundation, which leads the MCPH. Lachlan provides tailored energy advice to households across Melbourne and is dedicated to supporting community involvement in Australia’s clean energy transition.

The MCPH is funded by Sustainability Victoria on behalf of the Victorian Government as Melbourne's first community power hub. The MCPH works with communities to drive down emissions by supporting, developing and delivering local, cost-effective renewable energy projects. Visit to find out more about the Hub's range of Solar & All-Electric Home programs. 

April 28, 2022 at 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Karen Large · · 0425 753 266
Raquel Waller Lesley Walker Julie Mason Cath Rouse Linda Bradburn Sarah Powers James Dear Arzu Yilmaz Andrea Buckley Chris Lynch Annemarie Jones Janet Tran Sarah Brown Helen Murphy Ro Hueston Roslyn Semler David Risstrom Anne Jaques Liz Reen Sheryl Bryce John Terrell Marie-Louise Drew Maria Nechwatal Peter Schachte Angela Davies Llew Morgan Samiro Douglas Tony Gleeson Lawrie Hanson Jeremy Evans Craig Burton Deirdre Condon

Will you come?


get updates